California Baptist University Professors Win Blackboard Catalyst Award

May 25, 2012 - Riverside, CA

Award Recognizes Outstanding Development of Community Best Practices Through Innovative Course Design

Sherryl Berg-Ridenour, Dr. Torria Bond, Dr. Joshua Knabb, and Lindsay Pollard

California Baptist University's Sherryl Berg-Ridenour, Dr. Torria Bond, Dr. Joshua Knabb, and Lindsay Pollard were named winners of a Blackboard Catalyst Award for Exemplary Course Program, which honors members of the community who design and develop exciting and innovative courses that represent the very best in technology and learning. 

Part of the annual Blackboard Catalyst Awards program since 2000, the Blackboard Exemplary Course Program Award highlights technologically rich, engaging, well designed, and pedagogically sound courses that showcase best practices for the user community. Over 151 entries were evaluated in a rigorous peer-review process by more than 250 faculty and instructional designers. Submissions were judged on the following components: course design, interaction, collaboration, assessment and learner support.

The Blackboard Catalyst Awards program annually recognizes and honors innovation and excellence in the Blackboard global community of practice, where teachers and learners work every day to redefine what is possible when leveraging technology.

Dr. Torria Bond is one of the four recipients to receive this award from California Baptist University. As well as teaching courses through OPS, Dr. Bond is the Instructional Designer at Online and Professional Studies. Her job entails trying new and innovative programs and ideas in the courses that she teaches so that she is able to inform faculty on what works best in a distance learning classroom setting. This award testifies to her success in finding the best and most effective ways to make online learning more interactive. Although it was nice to be recognized by peers, Dr. Bond says that the greatest value of the award is the feedback and discussions that came from participating in the program. 

“We applaud the Blackboard Catalyst Award winners and their accomplishments,” said Ray Henderson, Chief Technology Officer and President of Academic Platforms for Blackboard.  “Their work represents some of the most innovative thinking in education today, and offers great models for how technology can help shape an improved education experience. We congratulate the award winners for their leadership, creativity and passion that is clearly evident in their work.”

Berg-Ridenour, Bond, Knabb, and Pollard will be honored alongside 34 other Exemplary Course Program winners during BbWorld®, Blackboard's annual user conference to be held in July in New Orleans, La.